World Series of Darts Final

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN will be aiming for a fourth successive bwin World Series of Darts Finals title, with Vienna's Multiversum Schwechat hosting 24 PDC stars - live on ITV4.
This year's World Series of Darts Finals will be held from November 2-4 as the tournament takes place in Austria for the first time, with a 50,000 pound top prize on offer to the winner. The 250,000 pound event is a culmination of the year's six World Series of Darts events, featuring the six winners of this year's global events alongside players from around the world and four qualifiers.
Van Gerwen will begin his bid for a fourth crown against either Maik Langendorf or Damon Heta in Saturday's second round, following the opening round on Friday. The Dutchman has dominated the end-of-year tournament since its inception in 2015, winning three successive titles in Glasgow before this year's move to Vienna.

"I am focused, determined and confident that it will be me and I am looking forward to enjoying a successful weekend in Vienna," said Van Gerwen, who won August's Auckland Darts Masters. "The World Series would be a nice one to win because there were different winners in all of the events so to win the finals would make someone clearly come out on top."

Mensur Suljovic, winner of the German Darts Masters winner in May in front of a record 20,210 fans in Gelsenkirchen, is hoping to fulfil his dream of lifting a televised title in Austria.

"One of my biggest dreams would be to win a tournament in Austria, for me, my family and especially my fans here who are really the best supporters I can wish for," said Suljovic, who will take on either Ross Smith or James Wade. "I can't wait to play in Austria again, the crowd at this year's European Tour event in Graz was the most amazing crowd I've ever played for."

Top seed Peter Wright, who won the Melbourne Darts Masters, will play either Wales' Gerwyn Price or Hong Kong's Royden Lam, while Brisbane Darts Masters winner Rob Cross meets Welshman Jamie Lewis or Belgium's Dimitri Van den Bergh.
US Darts Masters champion Gary Anderson, the fourth seed, will play either Dave Chisnall or Canadian youngster Dawson Murschell.
Michael Smith, the Shanghai Darts Masters winner, plays either Ian White or Australia's Kyle Anderson, while Raymond van Barneveld plays Australian Raymond Smith or former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown.
Australia's Simon Whitlock, the number eight seed, will play either qualifier Steve Beaton or world number five Daryl Gurney.

The tournament begins on Friday November 2 with the first round, with the top eight players from the World Series Order of Merit entering at the second round stage as the eight seeded players. Sunday's decisive final day sees the quarter-finals in the afternoon session and the semi-finals and final in the evening session.

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum