PDC Unicorn Youth World Championship

The PDC Unicorn Youth World Championship is a PDC tournament played for the first time in 2010. The PDC lanced the tournament after Barry Hearn's takeover offer to the BDO was turned down and it was called into question that Hearn would support Youth and Ladies the same as the BDO does.

Participate can all players who will be between 16 and 21 years old at the deadline. Participants are either players from the PDC Youth Tour or international qualifiers.
Beside a price money of 10 000 pound for the winner and 5 000 pound for the runner up both finalists are invited to the Grand Slam and get a Pro Tour Card.

To play the qualifiers and the tournament is open for all young players and no contract with the PDC has to be signed. When the players accept the place in the Grand Slam they have to sign a contract only for this tournament. And of course they have to sign a contract with the PDC when they accept the Pro Tour Card.

The PDC Unicorn U 21 World Championship is played in three phases.

Phase 1 Qualifications
International: Twelve Qualifiers, Fourteen Qualifiers in 2014:
Ireland: 2
Germany: 2
USA: 1
Canada: 1
Scandinavia: 1
Netherlands/Belgium: 1
Australia: 2
Austria/East Europe: 1
Italy: 1
Asia: 2

National (UK):
Qualification over the PDC Youth Tour Order of Merit:
Qualified are the Top 48 plus ties. Seeded are the top 8.

Qualification through Rileys Dartzones: Not possible in 2013 and 2014.

Phase 2
The 64 participants play in several rounds through to two finalists.
2010 phase 2 took place during a Players Championships weekend in the Metrodome in Barnsley, 2011 during a Players Championship weekend in Crawley. 2013 Phase two will played on 22. March 2013 in the Mertrodome in Barnsley. In 2014 it will be played on April 5 in Reading

Phase 3 Final
The final of the first Youth World Championship took place on 3. January 2011 alongside the PDC World Championship final. From 2012 the final of the Youth World Championship is played during the Premier League Play-Offs in My in the O2 Arena in London and is televeised by Sky Sports.

2011Arron Monk6:4Michael van Gerwen
2012James Hubbard6:3Michael van Gerwen
2013Michael Smith6:1Ricky Evans
2014Keegan Brown6:4Rowby-John Rodriguez

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum