Monk and Sparidaans claim first Tour Cards of 2023 Q Schools

Report, Ranking after Day 1

Arron Monk and Jeffrey Sparidaans became the first players to win PDC Tour Cards at the 2023 Qualifying Schools on Thursday.

2011 World Youth Champion Monk was victorious at UK Q School in Milton Keynes, while surprise package Sparidaans reigned supreme at European Q School in Kalkar, Germany.

Monk, who first burst onto the scene in 2010, defeated Dom Taylor 6-3 in the final to regain his place on the professional circuit for the first time since 2019.
The 32-year-old posted averages over 95 in wins over Cliff Prior and Luke Smith en route to the quarter-finals, where he whitewashed Mark McGeeney 6-0. This was followed by a 6-1 rout of Stephen Burton in the semi-finals, before he averaged 94.6 to defeat Taylor and seal his Tour Card.

Elsewhere at the Marshall Arena, Fallon Sherrock reached the quarter-finals for the first time, while former World Championship runner-up Andy Hamilton also made it as far as the last eight.

At the Wunderland in Kalkar, Sparidaans won a Tour Card for the first time on just his second Q School appearance.
The Dutchman, whose only PDC experience came at 2020 Q Schools, defeated former Tour Card Holder Maik Kuivenhoven in the last 16, before averaging 101.62 in his semi-final win over Jacques Labre.
Sparidaans scored a 6-2 victory over veteran Ronny Huybrechts in the final to book his place on tour in 2023 and 2024.

Friday will offer a further chance for players to win Tour Cards, with play commencing at 1200 CET in Kalkar and 1200 GMT in Milton Keynes.

In addition to the daily Tour Card winners, a further 19 Tour Cards will be awarded on a pro-rata basis to players from the respective UK/European Qualifying School Final Stage Orders of Merit following Day Four - ten in Europe, and nine in the UK.

UK Qualifying School Order of Merit after first day
RankName Leg-DiffLegs WonPoints
1Dom Taylor16395
2Stephen Burton8314
3Christian Perez8254
4Andy Hamilton14263
5Fallon Sherrock 9293
6Graham Usher5273
7Mark McGeeney2243
8John Henderson10232
9Nick Kenny9232
10Luke Smith7222
11Scott Baker6222
12Andy Boulton5222
13Owen Bates5202
13Nathan Girvan4222
15Ryan Harrington3232
16Adam Hunt8171
17Dan Read5161
18Graham Hall5161
19Shane Hayward5161
20Scott Walters4171
21Dylan Slevin4151
22Scott Mitchell3151
23Thomas Lovely3141
24Lee Budgen2141
25Mark Challenger1171
26Robert Thompson1151
27Shanes McGuirk1141
28Conan Whitehead1131
29Adam Lipscombe0151
30Cliff Prior0151
31David Pallett-1121

European Qualifying School Order of Merit after first day
RankName Leg-DiffLegs wonPoints
1Ronny Huybrechts22385
2Jacques Labre9344
3Niels Zonneveld8314
4Pascal Rupprecht11273
5John Michael 9283
6Thibault Tricole9273
7Owen Roelofs4283
8Maik Kuivenhoven10192
9Marcel Hausotter9232
10Richard Veenstra9232
11Andy Baetens8232
12Max Hopp7232
13Franz Roetzsch7222
13Robbis Knops6202
15Jeffrey de Zwaan4212
16Jeroen Mioch8171
17Jose Marques7171
18Jacob Taylor7151
19Jelle Klaasen6171
20Daniel Klose6161
21Gian van Veen6161
22Ricardo Perez-Ibarra5151
23Arjan Konterman4161
24Teemu Harju3161
25Toni Alcinas3151
26Derk Telnekes2151
27Benito van de Pas0151
28Patrick van den Boogarrd-1131
29Patrick Tringler-191
30Roemer Mooijman-2141
31Nick Crouwel-2131

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum