Phil Taylor
Birthday: 13. August 1960
Lives in: Wychwood Park, Nantwitch, England
Born in: Burnslem, Stoke-on-Trent, England
Nickname: The Power
Darts: 26g Target Phil Taylor legacy
Walk-On-Music: The Power (Snap!) / Former: Fanfare for the Common Man (Aaron Copland)
Organisation: PDC

Phil Taylor - the greatest dartplayer ever - was born in Burnslem. When he was 16 he had finished with school and went to work as a metallworker in the local company JF Sale & Co. He was without work from time to time and several times changed his employer but he played darts all the time.
First he played league and then he played in The Huntsmen in Burnslem where he met Erik Bristow. It was at the time when Bristow suffered from dartitis. Maureen Flowers, an exceptional dart player herself, manager and at that time partner of Bristow encouraged Bristow to sponsor Phil Taylor. Bristow gave Taylor 10 000 pound - quite a large sum at this time - which Taylor should hand back as soon as he started winning.

Taylor went into an unpaid vacation, married and in 1990 played his first tournament, the Canadian Open, and won it. In the final he beat Bob Anderson and was through the win qualified to play the BDO World Championship. He won it as well dfeating his mentor Erik Bristow in the finale. From this time on Phil Taylor dominates the sport of darts - first the BDO and some years later the PDC of which he was a founding member.
Taylor's consistency is unbelievable - only five times in all those years he didn't win the World Championship title. 1994 he lost in the final to Dennis Priestley, 2003 the Canadian John Part could beat him, 2007 Raymond van Barneveld defeated him and in 2008 he didn't even reach the final because he was in some kind of form crisis. In 2011 and 2012 Adrian Lewis won the World Championship. Taylor regained the title in 2013 but doesn't look as unbeatable any longer.

The only weaker period in his career he had from autumn 2007 to spring 2008. He changed his darts several times and changed a few other things he'll not give away and came back in summer 2008 stronger then ever. His averages exploded and in 2009 he won beside a few Pro Tour events every Major tournament with the exception of the Premier League.
Phil Taylor certainly is an exceptional player. His accuracy in unbelievable perhaps due to the fact that his darts land in the board different. His motivation and dedication are admirable, he's working harder then most of the players and to be sure he is a perfectionist and always on the hunt for possible improvements and might be faults. He's got an enormous mental strenght and dominates his opponents mentally as well. After a real strong year 2013 Taylor faded a little bit in the following years but stays under the Top three of the PDC Order of Merit. During the next years there were always rumours Taylor would soon end his carreer though in the end it took till the PDC World Championship 2018 till Taylor really retired. He reached for the last time a World Championship final but lost to Rob Cross. Before Taylor had secured himself his 16. World Matchplay title.

Major Tournaments
BDO World ChampionshipWinner1990, 1992
PDC World ChampionshipWinner1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013
World MastersWinner1990
World MatchplayWinner1995, 1997, 2000, 2001. 2002. 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017
World Grand PrixWinner1998, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013
UK OpenWinner2003, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2013
Grand Slam of DartsWinner2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014
Premier LeagueWinner2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012
European ChampionshipWinner2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
Players Championship FinalsWinner2009, 2011, 2012
PDC World CupWinner2012, 2013, 2015
Championship League DartsWinner2008, 2011, 2012
Champions LeagueWinner2016
The MastersWinner2013
WDF World CupQuarterfinals 1991
WDF Europe CupWinner1990, 1992
Las Vegas Desert ClassicsWinner2002, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2009

European Tour Events, Wins
Austrian Darts Open2016
German Darts Championship2012
German Darts Masters2014
Gibraltar Darts Trophy2013

PDC World Series of Darts, Wins
Sydney Darts Masters2013, 2014, 2015, 2016
Perth Darts Masters2014, 2015
Japan Darts Masters2015
Melbourne Darts Masters2017

Others, Selection
News of the WorldWinner1997
World Darts TrophyWinner2006
International Darts LeagueQuarterfinals2006
Bobby Bourne Memorial OpenWinner2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
Golden Harvest North America CupWinner2000, 2001, 2002, 2003
PDC German Darts ChampionshipWinner12007, 2009, 2010
North American OpenWinner1990, 1991
Emperors Palace South African MastersWinner2007, 2008, 2009
PDC US OpenWinner2007, 2008, 2010
WDF Europe Cup, PairsWinner1990
World Cricket ChampionshipWinner2010

Plus numerous wins on the Pro Tour

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum