Grand Slam of Darts

The Grand Slam is a PDC tournament which was played for the first time in 2007.
Since then it is played every year mid November in the Civic Hall of Wolverhampton. It starts on a Saturday and is played till next weeks Subday.

The Grand Slam is an invitation tournament and doesn't count for the PDC rankings. From 2015 only 20 of the participants are invited - the others qualify by several qualifiers. So now the Frand Slam will be a ranking tournament.
Both PDC and BDO players are invited to the tournament. Most of the players either won a Major tournament or reached the final. The World Championships semi finalists are considered as well.

32 players take part in the tournament. Usually some of the BDO players decline the invitation and there are not enough different PDC players which qualify automatically. So the PDC fills up the field according to changing criteria and organises a qualifier for PDPA members. In 2015 the PDC decided that four BDO players are invited while four more will qualify by two qualifiers - one in the UK played during the Winmau World Masters and the other on the continent.

Beside the unusual field of participants the Grand Slam has a for the PDC unusual format as well.
The 32 players are divided into eight groups and the first round is played in round robin. The first and the second of each group progress and the rest of the tournament is played in straight k.o. In each group is one seeded player.
In all rounds legs are played, first round round robin best of 9, second round best of 19, quarterfinals, semi finals and final best of 31.

GSOD Winners
2007Phil Taylor18:11Andy Hamilton
2008Phil Taylor18:9Terry Jenkins
2009Phil Taylor16:2Scott Waites
2010Scott Waites16:12James Wade
2011Phil Taylor16:4Gary Anderson
2012Raymond van Barneveld16:14Michael van Gerwen
2013Phil Taylor16:6Robert Thornton
2014Phil Taylor16:13Dave Chisnall
2015Michael van Gerwen16:13Phil Taylor
2016Michael van Gerwen16:8James Wade
2017Michael van Gerwen16:12Peter Wright
2018Gerwyn Price16:13Gary Anderson
2019Gerwyn Price16:6Peter Wright
2020Jose de Sousa16:12James Wade
2021Gerwyn Price16:8Peter Wright
2022Michael Smith16:5Nathan Aspinall

Price Money
WinnerRunner-UpSemi-FinalQuarterfinalLoser 2. RoundGroup Winner, BonusThird, GroupFourth, Group
2012100 000 Pound50 000 Pound25 000 Pound15 000 Pound7500 Pound2500 Pound5000 Pound2500 Pound
2013-2016100 000 Pound50 000 Pound25 000 Pound15 000 Pound7500 Pound2500 Pound5000 Pound2500 Pound
2017/18110 000 Pound55 000 Pound28 500 Pound16 000 Pound10 000 Pound5000 Pound3000 Pound2500 Pound
2019/20/21125 000 Pound65 000 Pound40 000 Pound20 000 Pound10 000 Pound3500 Pound7500 Pound4000 Pound
2022150 000 Pound70 000 Pound5 000 Pound25 000 Pound12 250 Pound3500 Pound8000 Pound5000 Pound

Contact © Global Darts. All Rights Reserved. Impressum